Go swivel!

If it works, this will be my first attempt at a Friday Fictioneers story.  Many thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for facilitating this fantastic site.

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com

Having dipped into other people’s stories over the last few months I have to say I am in awe at the creativity and the breadth of imagination shown week after week.  Unfortunately my thinking tends to be far more literal than lateral.  Still, if I keep at it something might click.

This is the Picture Prompt, kindly provided by Dale Rogerson:

FF 281015

Word count: 99

Title: Go swivel!

‘Looking for something Ben?’ Lisa asked.

‘Where’s my chair?’

‘Chair?’

‘You know … from the study.’

‘Today seemed like a good day to throw it out.’

‘What?  You knew I loved that chair.’

‘More than you love me.’

‘That’s stupid.   Anyway, what’s special about today?’

‘You forgot, didn’t you?  Again.’

Ben thought for a moment, ‘Where’s the chair now?’

‘No idea.  The rag and bone man took it.’

‘Did you check inside the cushion?’

‘For what?’

‘I hid your present in there.  Lisa, you’ve made a big mistake.’

Too true, Lisa thought. Would that guy take away a corpse?

<!– start InLinkz script –>
<!– end InLinkz script –>
This entry was posted in Domestic Dysfunctionalism, Flash Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Go swivel!

  1. Dear JS

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. It’s nice to know you’ve been lurking. I hope this means you’ll continue to join the fun. I’ve learned that, no matter I want to, throwing away anything my pack rat husband could result in severe consequences. Your story made me laugh. Literal is okay and one of these days you just might find yourself stepping outside the box and going lateral on us.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • JS Brand says:

      Hi Rochelle,

      Thank you. I promise to join in again. I wrote a response to last week’s photo, but missed the bus as I couldn’t figure out how to use the link (I had the feeling my parents probably had when faced with a VCR for the first time). Time to ask my own kids for advice I suppose.

      Best wishes,

      John

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was a really good write, I was curious as to what the gift would have been 🙂

    Like

    • JS Brand says:

      Hi and thank you. When I first wrote the story, Ben really had hidden Lisa’s gift in the chair – she’d lost it as a kind of lesson for messing with his stuff. Then, for some reason, I felt Ben wasn’t a particularly reliable partner and that he wouldn’t have remembered to mark the special day with a gift. I threw in Ben’s question about where the chair was now, so that he knew he could get away with pretending he’d bought the gift and could blame Lisa for having thrown it away with the old chair. My guess is that, if Ben had bought Lisa a gift, he wouldn’t have understood what she would really have liked. I like to think Lisa saw through his lie and started to think about how to get him out of her life (without needing to ask for help from the rag and bone man, I hope). I hoped readers wouldn’t be quite sure whether Ben was a faker or whether Lisa had sussed him out if they thought he was. I’m glad you liked the story.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

