You say potato …

This is my second attempt at a Friday Fictioneers story, spurred on by supportive comments from Rochelle and Shaneice (thank you).  I’ve kept it simple and stayed well under 100 words.  I hope the point of the story will come across whether it’s read with American pronunciation or British.  I’m sorry if it doesn’t.

The photo prompt was kindly provided by Connie Gayer.

Dirt

Word count: 70

Title: You say potato …

‘Aw, Dad.  It still hasn’t grown.  I’ll never get to impress Grandpa.’

‘What’re you trying to grow, son?’

‘A dahlia.  Grandpa loves ‘em.  He said they grow from tubes.’

‘Tubers … they grow from tubers.’

‘Really?’

‘Come on, let’s go the store, pick some up.’

‘Some?  Aren’t they expensive, Dad?’

‘Worth it to impress Grandpa though.’

‘OK, thanks Dad.  When we’ve bought the tubas, can I look at the guitars?’

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

This entry was posted in Dubious Wordplay, Flash Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to You say potato …

  1. ansumani says:

    Atleast they are communicating despite all these little misunderstanding 🙂 Nice story.

    Like

    • JS Brand says:

      Thank you. Misunderstandings have landed me in trouble more than a few times, so I liked the idea of a scenario where someone getting the wrong end of the stick might provoke a smile.

      Like

  2. Sweet, wanting to surprise grandpa and tubers/tubas. 🙂

    Like

    • JS Brand says:

      Thank you Deborah. Now I wish I’d had the boy saying he wanted to surprise grandpa instead of impress him. Somehow it captures kindness rather than the kind of anxiety that lots of us men develop with regard to doing what we think would make Dad proud.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dale says:

    Well done in 70 words… Imagine what you could have done with 30 more!

    Like

  4. Margaret says:

    A guitar is what he’d really like, I think. Good wordplay.

    Like

  5. ceayr says:

    Cute tale.
    Well done.
    And welcome to FF.

    Like

  6. A good pun is a privilege to read… 🙂

    Like

    • JS Brand says:

      Thank you Bjorn. More years ago than I like to remember, I had a job that included writing speeches for my boss. He grew a little tired of the puns I often included and told me he he’d ban me from using them, if only he could think of a suitable way to punish me if I carried on. I don’t think he spotted the irony, but I cut back on the puns anyway and I suppose I’m now making up for lost time.

      Like

  7. Dear JS,

    Brevity is the soul of wit. Very nicely done and cute to boot. Glad you came back for round 2.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  8. gahlearner says:

    This is very cute, gave me a good laugh. Dahlias growing out of tubas would be a sight grandpa wouldn’t have seen often. Sure to impress him. Welcome! 🙂

    Like

  9. What we have here is a failure to communicate. I feel like this kid is from Massachusetts or Maine. He keeps dropping his rs

    Like

  10. JS Brand says:

    Ditto, although I’m English. For a long time I worked in Hull, a port city which is out on a limb geographically, leading to the development of a distinctive accent with vowels pronounced in a way that I don’t think is found anywhere else. For example, ‘phone’ becomes ‘fern’, ‘road’ is ‘rurd’, ‘five’ is ‘farv’ and ‘straight’ is ‘strite’. I once had to tell a young man to ‘stop smirking’ during what was meant to be a serious discussion. He kept protesting that he’d never smirked in his life and I was close to losing my temper when he pointed out there wasn’t a ‘Ner Smirking’ sign. This was a light bulb moment that taught me to listen more carefully thereafter.

    Like

  11. Cute story! I would say there is a breakdown in communication. LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

