A Fairy Tale for Autumn (aka Fall of the Fairy?)

Apologies if you were looking for Tree of Firsts – please scroll down if you were.  After I’d posted that story, my head filled with fairies and I tried to take a second bite with this tale.  I couldn’t resist it and I hope no one minds (it’s not a cherry tree, after all).  Unfortunately the link failed, so it shows at Sunday Photo Fiction, but doesn’t work.  I’ve tried to fix it, but I seem to have offended the web sprites (plus I’m not too good with technology).

Anyway, this is my second go at a story for Sunday Photo Fiction, https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/, which invites stories of about 200 words, inspired by a photo prompt. This week’s photo is shown below.

 Tree

Fairy school wasn’t Hogwarts, but it wasn’t bad.  Until they handed out our assignments.

Glinda was first.  That vacuous bitch gets to duet with Idina Menzel?

Then the triplets.  Come on … three of ‘em to look after one tiny princess?  And a pension after SIXTEEN years?

Nicole got to be tooth fairy.  Actually, a good choice.  I’d never have the dough for that gig.

Tinkerbell … Marilyn.  With that tokhis, who else could it be?

It went on, and on and … finally, my turn.  The Fairy Godmother must have sensed my disappointment.  ‘It was made for you, Autumn.  Look on the bright side … nine months off every year.’

Who was she trying to kid?  Leaf Fairy!  Where the hell to start?

Postscript: we are sorry to inform you that, on her first day in the job, Autumn fell victim to a practical joke and was sucked into a leaf blower.  Puck is helping the police with their enquiries.

JS Brand

This entry was posted in Fairy Tales, Flash Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Fairy Tale for Autumn (aka Fall of the Fairy?)

  1. Steve Lakey says:

    A very short assignment! What will we do without Autumn?

    Like

  2. Hahaha that gave me a smile. Loved it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

