Strike

This story was prompted by the picture below, at Sunday Photo Fiction https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2015/11/29/sunday-photo-fiction-november-29-2015/  Photo provided and site facilitated by Al Forbes. Click here to add your link and see other people’s stories: http://www.inlinkz.com/new/view.php?id=586095 .

132 11 November 29th 2015

(200 words)

When Mum told me Kevin was taking me to the seaside again, I said I wasn’t well.

‘Fresh air’s good for you,’ she’d said. ‘Anyway, you love the sea.’

Truth was, I did like walking along the cliffs.   The treats were good too.  I didn’t like what happened afterwards in the shelter.

Today started the same as usual.  A ride on the bus, then fun in the arcade.  Ice cream, with lots of sprinkles.  A walk on the cliffs till we reached the point, downhill from the shelter, where Kevin always stopped to look over at the bird colony.

‘Right, you know what to do,’ he’d said.  I ran to the shelter and checked carefully that there was no one around.  The old tyre was there, like before, its rubbery smell reminding me of other visits.

Looking to see whether Kevin was ready, I got the tyre into position, making sure it would serve its purpose.  Something must have caught Kevin’s attention, because he squatted and lowered his head, still with his back to me.

I put my weight behind the tyre and hurled it down the hill with as much force as I could manage.

My aim was perfect.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Strike

  1. Susan says:

    Wow. I didn’t expect that. I guess Kevin had it coming to him. Good story. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Steve Lakey says:

    Wasn’t expecting that ending! Good twist.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Brilliant. 😀 Let’s hope it was crippling one

    Liked by 1 person

  4. JS Brand says:

    I’m confident the fall put an end to Kevin’s activities for good. Thank you for your comment.

    Like

  5. Good ridance to Kevin! Glad his (the narrator’s) aim was so good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

