Snap!

This story was prompted by a photo kindly provided by Amy Reese at Friday Fictioneers, https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2016/01/06/8-january-2016 , which is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

For reasons that I hope will be understandable, I found I was unable to invent a wholly fictional story in relation to this prompt.  Rather than abstain, though, I’ve submitted a fictionalised story that was “inspired by real events”.  I also hope I haven’t broken any rules by embedding the prompt in the story, or by including another photo that featured in the aforementioned real events.

To read other stories and add your own, please follow the link: http://www.inlinkz.com/new/view.php?id=596463 .

Snap!

Coco Cay, 8 January 2016

Him: ‘Wow – double rainbow, right on the beach.  Take a photo, quick.’

Her: ‘You take it, Mister fancy camera.’

Him: ‘Disk’s full.’

Her: ‘How?’

He shrugs.

Her: ‘’What have you been photographing?’

Him: ‘Stuff.’

She raises an eyebrow.

Him: ‘Potential photo prompts … for flash fiction.  Here’s one I want to send in.’

IMG_7402 (2)

JS Brand

She shakes her head.

Home, 13 January 2016

Him: ‘Look, I’m logging on at Friday Fictioneers.  I’ll show you the new prompt.’

Her: ‘It’s Wednesday.’

He ignores her and scrolls down, ‘Oh, c’mon …  Amy beat me to it!’

PHOTO PROMPT © Amy Reese

Copyright: Amy Reese

(Pause)

Her: ‘Amy?’

100 words (not including photo acknowledgements)

OK, the two photos aren’t identical and might not be close enough to match up in a game of Snap, but I think Amy’s would win in a game of Top Trumps.  Before I saw Amy’s picture I thought the one of the “stairs to nowhere” could yield dozens of story ideas, but any that I had quickly evaporated.  There’s no saying that Rochelle would ever have used the photo if I’d sent it in, but I’m pleased that Amy’s picture was published, as it has triggered lots of great stories.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Snap!

  1. Ha.. yes I recognize one aspect here.. I also have pictures I have snapped just for the purpose of making them image prompts…. might send a few to Rochellle… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • JS Brand says:

      Thank you Bjorn – it’s good to know I’m not the only one (I didn’t think I would be). Thankfully Amy’s prompt was printed in time to save me from becoming a complete obsessive.

      Like

  2. Dear JS

    It’s perfectly okay to use other photos with the prompt. I do have a lot of photos but I’m always open to more. Make sure that your name is there somewhere. At least as part of the file name. I get confused. I don’t guarantee that I’ll use every photo that comes in but I do try to use at least one from everyone. I hope that made sense.

    There are really no rules about fiction vs non-fiction either. As long as it’s a whole story in a hundred words. I enjoyed yours. I think we’ve all gotten to the point where we walk around snapping shots that might make a good prompt. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • JS Brand says:

      Thank you Rochelle. After this week’s coincidence I’m taking steps (ouch) to be more selective about snapping potential prompts, but I will send one or two at some point.

      Like

  3. Alice Audrey says:

    LOL I love it. Such coincidence.

    Great story. Come see mine here.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. gahlearner says:

    Love it, and the conversation with ‘Her’. Amy? LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Amy Reese says:

    Ha! I love it!! This is hilarious. I’m sorry I beat you to it. Yours, although similar, is different and I bet would inspire different stories. You should still send it in. I want to tell that these kind of coincidences with Friday Fictioneers happen all the time with me. Like once my characters’ names were those of someone’s children. No joke! It’s really weird. Anyway, thanks for the great story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

