She Wheels Her Wheelbarrow

This story was prompted by the photo below.  It’s the second one I’ve posted since January 2016 (both posted today for the same prompt), as I found my flash fiction mojo had disappeared after I’d taken a two-week digital detox.

I sent in the photo as I thought it might make a good prompt and, having done so, felt I should make an effort to write something.  This is the second attempt.  I’ve posted another one from a slightly different angle.  Time will tell whether I’ve got my mojo working again.  Thank you Al for using the photo and for hosting week after week.

Click here to see other stories and add your own:  http://www.inlinkz.com/new/view.php?id=710656

07-john-brand-23-april-2017[1]

She Wheels Her Wheelbarrow

Molly felt bad about killing Derek.  He was gentle and loyal and never strayed with that bitch across the green.

Frank was different – a moody man who’d married out of spite.  Seldom violent, but always ready with harsh words about her looks, her cooking or the time she spent gardening.  If she hadn’t looked after the garden it would have been a jungle!

On the rare occasions that he ventured out, he soon wandered back in, dragging mud with him.  Then he’d blame Molly … even though she kept the place spotless, Frank called her a slut.  When the ancient hoover died, you’d have thought the miserable goat would have happily bought a new cyclone thingy, so she could keep his castle spick-and-span.  Instead Frank ranted about her clumsiness.

Then Frank had pushed Molly into the scullery, pointed to the broom and spat, ‘Use this.’

Molly obeyed, thrashing at Frank’s head until he collapsed to the floor, lifeless.

Molly found a good use for Frank, fertilising the old cherry tree.  The hoover made a nice headstone.

As for Derek, mooching under the tree was one thing, but when he began to dig, Molly had to reunite him with his master.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to She Wheels Her Wheelbarrow

  1. Joe Owens says:

    Murder She Likes! I suppose with loves like this she has good reason.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Iain Kelly says:

    Don’t get on the wrong side of Molly – certainly don’t move in with her! Nice story, darkly amusing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, you don’t want to upset this lady!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sandra says:

    I see we went along similar lines. I didn’t kill the dog. The dog shopped me. A good story, and I liked the repetition of ‘Molly’ towards the end.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JS Brand says:

      Yes, I knew you hadn’t killed the dog, I just meant we both cast one in the role of snitch. You probably stood up for formal justice than I did too, as my protagonist was going to get away with it, for the time being at least.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. ceayr says:

    I liked that I didn’t realise Derek was a mutt until the end, I thought you were just rather judgemental about the lady across the way!
    Nicely done.

    Like

  6. athling2001 says:

    Great twist. Such a great use for the body.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. JS Brand says:

    That’s good news, thank you. I couldn’t resist putting in a clue, but I thought I might have given the game away too early. I don’t feel too bad about misdirecting readers by giving a dog a “human” name (better than a bad one), as that seems to be the done thing now. Are there any Rovers left?

    Like

  8. michael1148humphris says:

    I enjoyed the misdirect, can’t say more as the hoover is calling me.

    Like

  9. I love the way you reveal the twist at the end. “Bitch” takes on a wholly different meaning.

    Like

  10. JS Brand says:

    Thank you. I wasn’t sure it would work, as it might have been too much of a giveaway at the beginning. It’s sad, really, that nowadays we almost always interpret “bitch” as a pejorative term for a woman. Sadder still, though, that for some people it’s an acceptable term for a woman and not a pejorative one at all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

