If You Go Down To The Woods Today …

This story was written for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/2017/05/01/fffaw-challenge-week-of-may-2-2017/ and was inspired by the photo prompt below, which was kindly provided by Loretta Notto.

I hope the story falls below an R rating.

To see other people’s stories and add your own, click this link: http://www.inlinkz.com/new/view.php?id=712495

 

If You Go Down To The Woods Today

This wasn’t what Bill had expected to happen when he’d told Babs how they could put the spark back in their relationship. She’d reacted surprisingly well and promised to make it happen.

Bill had been full of hope when she’d driven them out to the woods, wearing the outfits she’d chosen. He was dressed as a lumberjack and, better still, Babs was a dead ringer for Daisy Duke.

So why were they here, an hour later, with no one else for company, having done nothing but cut up dozens of tree trunks?  This wasn’t Bill’s idea of getting physical.

“Babs, darlin’,” Bill whined. “What’s happenin’ here?  Where’s the others?”

“Others?  We don’t need anybody else,” Babs answered.

“Course we do,” said Bill, “but why have you dragged me out here to chop wood?”

“It’s what you asked for,” Babs came back.

“When?”

“Right after you said our relationship was doomed.  I said we needed to communicate better and you said we should go logging.”

“I said we should go DOGGING.”

170 words

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to If You Go Down To The Woods Today …

  1. Hahahahaha! I wonder if she is blonde? This reminds me of a blonde joke. LOL! Cute story!

    Like

  2. JS Brand says:

    As a gentleman I couldn’t possibly answer that question. Plus I wouldn’t want to intrude on the fantasies of either camp in the “which Daisy is better, brunette or blonde?” debate. Between you and me, though, I think I prefer the TV Daisy to the movie one. Close call though.
    Thank you for your kind comments.

    Like

  3. michael1148humphris says:

    I don’t think that there is any hope for Bill and Babs, but please keep writing Flash Fiction

    Liked by 1 person

  4. JS Brand says:

    Thank you. I hope Babs sees the light and moves on soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Chris C. says:

    That made me laugh, although I did have to re-read it. Poor Bill. Maybe. I’m still not convinced that he understands what it takes to hold a relationship together…

    Liked by 1 person

    • JS Brand says:

      Thank you Chris. I’m on Babs’ side; at least she makes an effort. The comment about having to re-read the story is helpful – I chopped* a lot out of the first attempt, so probably some clarity was lost.
      * pun unintentional, honest.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Chris C. says:

        No worries, I still enjoyed it greatly! Mostly because the word “dogging” isn’t something I come across here often, thus the re-reading. Also – puns, intentional or not, are always welcome 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Iain Kelly says:

    Hahaha! Very good, gave me a chuckle 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Singledust says:

    this made me laugh so much! I have been in such a predicament, when a date once suggested something and I got dressed for a completely different event! he almost fainted when he saw me! good story, lots for the mind to imagine and made me feel good thinking it over.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JS Brand says:

      Thank you so much. I’ll be awake all night now, trying to guess what your predicament was!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Singledust says:

        oh that made me smile more, but a lady never tells! I am sorry to have induced your insomnia, but your story just brought those memories back, I am kind of a silly girl at times! Small things make me very happy. Its morning on the equator and your story will be my happy place to go to today.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Michael says:

    Good one JS, communication can sometimes be tricky…..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

