Stool Pigeon

This is a story for Friday Fictioneers, https://rochellewisoff.com/2017/10/11/6-october-2017/. It was prompted by the photo below, kindly provided by Douglas M. MacIlroy (who has a workshop that leaves me green with envy).

To see other people’s stories and add your own, please click on the link:

Stool Pigeon

All Officer Doran wanted, after a tough shift, was a quiet drink. So he wasn’t happy when the bird on Mickey the barman’s shoulder muttered, “Who smells pig?”

“Knock it off,” Doran muttered back.

“Careful, Joey’s got family connections,” the barman sniggered.

“Oh yeah – Partridge Family?”

“Nah, the Starling family.”

“Pour the whisky.”

Mickey filled two glasses.

“Screw you, copper,” Joey chirruped, before hopping onto the bar and dipping his beak into both drinks.

Doran seized the bird and eyeballed Mickey.

“You’re coming to the station, Mickey.”

“What the hell did I do?

“Serving alcohol to a mynah. C’mon.”

100 words

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Deepest apologies – this is a terrible piece of wordplay. I tried to pen a shape-shifting tale about an army officer, so I could work in the line, “how strange the change from major to mynah” (from Every Time We Say Goodbye, almost). I’m not cut out for sci-fi, so I gave up. Hence this hastily written effort to raise a smile.

This entry was posted in Anthropomorphic ramblings, Crime, Flash Fiction, Police Procedural. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Stool Pigeon

  1. James says:

    Oy. Such a bad pun. Ok, it was also clever.

    Like

  2. Iain Kelly says:

    *Groan* but at the same time, highly amusing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear JS,

    Most puns are bad. The worst ones make me groan with delight. Love it!

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  4. granonine says:

    I love these punny stories, admire those of you who are quick with them. Nice work.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dale says:

    Couldn’t help but guffaw at the end! Hilarious!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. pennygadd51 says:

    That made me chuckle. Lovely pun, delivered shrewdly!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Varad says:

    Haha! But is serving alcohol to mynas ill-eagle? 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    I agree with all this was hoot to read. Forgive me I couldn’t resist.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Brilliant! I’m really pleased that I’m not the only writer to have come up with a joke this week!

    Click to read my FriFic!

    Liked by 1 person

    • JS Brand says:

      Thank you Keith. I’m pleased you commented as it prompted me to try again to comment on one of your stories. I’ve tried several times but it always looked as if it hadn’t worked. I think it worked this time. If not, please let me know. I always enjoy your stories and felt guilty that it didn’t seem to be possible to say so.

      Like

Leave a Reply

