Words

This is a story for What Pegman Saw, https://whatpegmansaw.com/2017/10/14/mauritius/.  It was prompted by the image below.

To see other people’s stories and add your own, please click on the link:

pineapples picture jpeg

Words

“Grandma’s right,” said Lily, “this pineapple is moricious.”
“From Mauritius, sweetheart,” Grandpa answered, “Moricious isn’t a real word.”
“You sure?”
“Sure I’m sure. You’re confusing two words – moreish and delicious. They mean_”
“I know Grandpa. They describe how you feel about whisky.”
“That’s right, but I’m a grown-up, remember.”
Grandpa chinked his glass against Lily’s beaker, before pouring himself a refill.
“Is conflating a real word?” Lily asked.
“I suppose.”
“I think that’s what I did – conflate, not confuse.”
“OK.”
“’Sides, my teacher says language is revolving all the time. I just revolved moricious.”
“I’ll drink to that,” Grandpa belched, reaching for the bottle.
“Is ‘to die for’ the same as moreish?”
“More or less, probably.”
“I bet that’s a spression that grown-ups revolved. It’s stupid.”
“Whaddya mean Lily?”
“Well, you like whisky a lot, Grandpa. But you wouldn’t wanna die for it, would ya?”

145 words

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image capture: Mar 2017Images may be subject to copyright.United StatesTermswww.google.co.uk/maps

Report a problem

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, relationships, Things kids say. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Words

  1. k rawson says:

    That little one is far wiser than Grandpa realizes (yet). The playful use of language is thought provoking and effective. Loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • JS Brand says:

      Thank you Karen. This was partly prompted by one of my granddaughters. She’s 5 and shows precocious use of language. A few days ago she said to my wife, “Granny, ellipsis.” My wife asked what she meant. The answer was, “You know, it’s three dots, it means something else is coming”. “What else?” my wife asked. Answer: “Granny, dot dot dot, I love you.” Touching or what? I’m sorry to say I haven’t been on the receiving end of an ellipsis yet. P.S. Grandpa is definitely not a self-portrait!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Dear JS,

    Love this story. Adorable, and coupled with what you shared with Karen, even sweeter. Great plays with words.

    Shalom

    Rochelle

    Like

  3. pennygadd51 says:

    Great wordplay, through which you tell a story which is both touching and with a wry hint of darkness. I bet Grandpa’s liver is shot with the amount he seemingly drinks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

