Wish You Were Here

This is a story for Sunday Photo Fiction, https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2017/10/29/sunday-photo-fiction-october-29th-2017/ , hosted by Al Forbes.  It was prompted by the photo below, kindly provided by J. Hardy Carroll.

To view other people’s stories and add your own, please click on the link:

Wish You Were Here

Neighbours Fred and George chew the fat over a pint at their local.

“Must be 6 month since your Ethel went off wi’ Terry?”

“Nine.”

“The night before that were the first time I’d heard you two argue.”

“She argued. I dint. I ‘ad a strategy.”

“Strategy?”

“Aye. I kept our Maggie’s old dolls int shed. When Ethel went off on one, there was times when I wanted to throttle ‘er. You don’t ‘it a woman, though, so I used to go int shed, rip the ‘ead off one o’ them dolls and bury the body int garden.”

“What about the ‘eads?”

“Kept ’em. Dozens of ’em. She was a prolific scold, was Ethel.”

“Did you do that the night she told you about ‘er and Terry?”

“I’d run out of dolls.”

“Nobody’s seen ‘er or Terry since. What the bloody ‘ell did you do? Are they buried int garden an’ all?”

“Don’t be daft. I always knew what she were up to wi’ Terry when she said she were at line dancing. Terry were welcome to ‘er. They’re living in Spain now.”

“Do you miss ‘er?”

“Do I buggery.”

“Oh.”

“I miss Terry though. ‘E were me darts partner.”

200 words

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Apologies if there’s anyone out there who’s an expert at writing in dialect.  As you can see, I’m not.  If it helps, “int” is the way people round my way say “isn’t” or “in the”.  We say  “dint” for “didn’t”, “dunt” for “doesn’t” and “wunt” for “wouldn’t”.  I’m not going to tell you what we say instead of “couldn’t”.

 

This entry was posted in Domestic Dysfunctionalism, Flash Fiction, Online Writing, relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wish You Were Here

  1. prior.. says:

    Well interesting to know about the int and that – lol on what might be for couldn’t –
    And thanks for not having this be super horror or violent – I have been feeling a little worn down by some of the flash fiction that is about violent murder or whatnot – maybe with Halloween in the air – or maybe that is what folks like – but I feel like folks should warn us if there will be graphic violence – and then again they might thing that what they write is tame or mild compared to what others find offensive – but maybe like we warn for sexual or religious content folks should warn –
    Anyhow – so I was laughed to imagine the guy taking his frustration out on the dolls – hah! And then how he missed his dart partner more than his wife – JS – this is often the case for many folks – well done and I felt the culture richness

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The last line really made me smile! The dialect was great fun to read – I could hear them tawkin!

    Click to visit Keith’s Ramblings

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Iain Kelly says:

    Haha, loved this – both the dialogue and the matter of fact way they deal with their troubles.Wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. EagleAye says:

    Haha! I guess she wasn’t as good a wife as he was a darts player. So funny! Loved the language in this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

