The Boy Who Cried Wolf?

This is a story for Sunday Photo Fiction, https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2017/11/12/sunday-photo-fiction-november-12th-2017/, hosted by Al Forbes.  It was prompted by the photo below, provided by our host.

It was slightly spooky to see the prompt, as this type of drain isn’t common in our area, but I spotted one yesterday near a new development and commented on it to my wife (we have to take our excitement where we can find it in these parts).  The real drain reminded me of a specific film, so my story had to relate to that.

To see other people’s stories or add your own, please click on the link:

The Boy Who Cried Wolf?

“So,” Sheriff Hutton asks, “you heard crying and found this kid trapped in a drain. Kid says he’s been kidnapped. A clown’s comin’ back to kill ‘im?”

“You better hurry.”

“Gimmell, remember when you crashed your car? You told the deputy it was the car’s fault, it had a mind of its own? You was high, wasn’t you?”

“Yessir, but_”

“But nuthin’. I’ve tolerated your false reports, cozza your folks an’ all. Enough’s enough. I’m putting you before the court for wastin’ police time.”

“What about the boy?”

“Just get in the cell.”
…….

A mile away Karl lies bleeding in a sewer, hoping to see anyone but the crazy man real soon.
…….

Hutton briefs Deputies Hall and McPhun, “Swing by the empty minimart and take a look down the drains. Make sure there ain’t a cat stuck down there. Don’t want the public defender saying Gimmell made a honest mistake.”
…….

“Let’s get some breakfast”, Hall tells his partner.

“Shouldn’t we go look?” McPhun asks.

“Nooo, you can just tell the sheriff we did. Gimmell’s been nuts since his folks abandoned him. Fourteen, he was. Claimed a giant lobster came outta the mist and snatched both of ’em.”

200 words

This entry was posted in Crime, Flash Fiction, Police Procedural. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Boy Who Cried Wolf?

  1. Iain Kelly says:

    There is no way I’m going to see that film – just the trailer freaked me out! I’ll stick to your short story – those police are in for a shock 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • JS Brand says:

      I didn’t plan to watch the new version either, just because I rarely see the point in remaking something that wasn’t made that long ago. You prompted me to watch the trailer and it looks pretty good. The ending of the original was iffy; I wonder if it’s better this time round.
      You’re right about the cops – Hall’s breakfast might not stay down too long!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. James says:

    A clown down the drain and a car with a mind of its own. Stephen King’s “It” and “Christine” receptively.

    Liked by 1 person

    • JS Brand says:

      That’s right James, with a bit of The Mist thrown in. I wasn’t sure myself whether Gimmell was a boy who’d cried wolf too many times or a wolf who’d started his killing spree with his own parents but avoided suspicion thanks to his perceived craziness.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. michael1148humphris says:

    I am glad that horror films are not to my taste, but I like this sad tale

    Liked by 1 person

    • JS Brand says:

      Thank you Michael. I’m not a big horror fan myself, but I couldn’t resist reading some of Stephen King’s books and watching the film’s based on them. Not many can match him at creating suspense and shock.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

